I ran across this today.
Rachel Rieger figured getting diagnosed with celiac disease and having to rid gluten from her diet meant she could no longer partake of the wheat-based communion bread that represents a key facet of her Catholic faith.
"It was tough for me to cope with," said Rieger, 23.
She was thrilled when her priest in Cleveland, Ohio, told her the church allows a low-gluten wafer generally considered safe for people who suffer damage to their small intestine when they eat the gluten protein found in wheat, barley and rye.
One would think this wouldn't be an issue what with transubstantiation and all. But then all that is accessible to the senses remains unchanged.
Upcoming Rides and Weather
3 days ago